You are here

Back to top

BOOK REVIEWS BY KIDS & TEENS

ABC Catalog

Books recommended by kids and teens who have filled out shelf talkers in the shop to recommend favorite books or by our STAR readers (Spellbound Tween/Teen Advance Readers) who review galleys of books before publication to help us choose our inventory. Kids 8 to 18 years old can sign up anytime to review books for the bookshop as STAR readers, and readers of any age can fill out shelf talkers for books they love to call attention to them on our shelves and help other readers decide what to read.

Stalking Jack the Ripper Cover Image
By Kerri Maniscalco, James Patterson (Foreword by)
$10.99
ISBN: 9780316273510
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: jimmy patterson - September 5th, 2017

Recommended by Kat O, age 14

This book is full of many twists and turns to keep you on the edge of your seat.  It's a great example of a woman standing up for her beliefs no matter how much people disregard them.


Raymie Nightingale Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763681173
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Candlewick - April 12th, 2016

Recommended by Vivian, age 10:

You will go on a flight with Raymie as she explains how she goes through rough, crazy amazing, and cool things.  This book will really get you interested!  You should read this if you like adventure, fiction and batons!


Dragonwatch: A Fablehaven Adventure Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781629722566
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Shadow Mountain - March 14th, 2017

Recommended by: James, age 10

I like this book because it has a lot of adventure and mythical creatures. It is a good sequel to Fablehaven.

You should read this book if you like adventure/fantasy.


The Disastrous Magical Wishes of Classroom 13 Cover Image
$5.99
ISBN: 9780316464567
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 12th, 2017

Recommended by: Corinne, age 8

I gave this book 5 stars because it's funny, interesting, and original.  It's funny when the character gets stuck in a comic strip.

(Comes out September 12)

 


Cilla Lee-Jenkins: Future Author Extraordinaire Cover Image
By Susan Tan, Dana Wulfekotte (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626725515
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 28th, 2017

Recommended by: Kylea R.

Cilla is a girl who is going to have a new sibling soon but she doesn't want to have a little brother or sister. I like this book because it's like Ivy and Bean, one of my favorite series.

 


Song of the Current Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681192970
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - June 6th, 2017

Recommended by: EllaGrey, age 11

I gave this book 4 stars because it was pretty good.  You kind of have to know everything about boats to understand it fully. (Does anybody know what a bowsprit is?)


The Star Thief Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316348560
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 11th, 2017

Recommended by: Kylea R.

I like this book because the main character, Honorine, is brave and makes mistakes like everyone else.

 


The Lost Kingdom of Bamarre Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062074669
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - May 2nd, 2017

Recommended by: Kylea R.

Peregrine is a Lakti noble girl who figures out she is Bamarre, a people enslaved by the Lakti, and is sent out on a quest a fairy gives her to free her people. I admire the main character because event hough she could have done nothing and still had a good life she chose to help people in need.


Hamster Princess: Giant Trouble Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780399186523
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - May 9th, 2017

Recommended by: Kylea R.

Harriet is a princess who climbs a magic beanstalk and finds two prisoners, a giant goose and a harpster, who are owned by a mean giant. So Harriet decides to rescue them. My favorite part of the book was when the giant rhymes "fart" with "art." I really liked this book because it's funny and the main character is a girl but still strong and adventurous.


Serafina and the Splintered Heart (Serafina Book 3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781484775042
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 3rd, 2017

Reviewed by: Alex B., age 10
STARS: 4.5 out of 5

Words/phrases that describe this book:
Exciting
Interesting
Different than what I've read before
Vivid

I gave this book 4.5 stars because it was a really good book and it was easy to follow. My only criticism was that it foreshadowed many important events so much that you could already know them.


 


The Countdown Conspiracy Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062462558
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - August 1st, 2017

Recommended by: Jacob F., age 12

This book is amazing. For one thing, it's part of my favorite genre: sci-fi/space. It's a welcome change from the slightly stereoptypical cliched books I've read from this genre. 

You should read this if you like Space Case and Spaced Out by Stuart Gibbs.


The Magic Misfits Cover Image
By Neil Patrick Harris, Lissy Marlin (Illustrator), Kyle Hinton (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316391825
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - November 21st, 2017

Recommended by: Caroline, age 9

I gave this book 5 stars because it was very interesting and funny with lovable and entertaining characters.

 


The Way to Bea Cover Image
By Kat Yeh
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316236676
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 19th, 2017

Recommended by: Caroline, age 9

I gave this book 4.5 stars because it was a bit of a slow start, but it ended up being very interesting and heartwarming.


The Losers Club Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399557552
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - August 1st, 2017

Recommended by: Corinne, age 8

I gave this book 5 stars because it is funny, exciting, and nothing like I ever read. It was funy when they mentioned Star Wars.